Faroese author awarded big children’s book prize

31.10.2018 - 13:31
Faroese author awarded big children’s book prize
Bárður Oskarsson yesterday won the prestigious Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature Prize 2018 for the picture book Træið
Niels Jákup Thomsen, of BFL, the Faroese publisher of books for children and young adults, accepts the award on behalf of Bárður Oskarsson at yesterday’s award ceremony in Oslo.

Bárður Oskarsson can now add a Nordic Council prize and DKK 350,000 to the long list of awards and accolades he has received for his children’s books.

The Faroese author was recently awarded the West Nordic Council’s Children’s Book Award, and last night he won the prestigious Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature Prize 2018 for his picture book Træið (The Tree).

Oskarsson is best known for his simple drawings, which critics say carry a philosophical weight that appeals to children.

His books have been published in numerous countries and have received critical acclaim in major publications such as the New York Times.

The Nordic Council judging panel pointed out that despite being a children’s book, Træið is an equally rewarding read for adults.

Yesterday’s biggest prize was the Nordic Council Literature Prize. Faroese author Jóanes Nielsen was nominated for this award for the fifth time, but the prize was given to Iceland’s Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir for the book Ör.

Faroese heavy metal band Hamferð was nominated for the Nordic Council Music Prize, but Norwegian composer Niels Henrik Asheim took the honours in this category.

Translated by prosa.fo

Sí eisini

Nýggjastu sendingar í ÚV
Fríggjadag 16. november
Síðsta Skríggj 16.november 2018
Fríggjadag 16. november
Pressan: Fleiri uttanlandstíðindi
Fríggjadag 16. november
Morgunlestur fríggjadagur 16. november 2018
Hósdag 15. november
Americana: 2010 - 2017
Hósdag 15. november
Góðan morgun Føroyar 151118
Nýggjastu sendingar í SV
Fríggjadag 16. november
Lyst 21
Hósdag 15. november
Tað er nú vit liva
Hósdag 15. november
25 minuttir: Høgni Rasmussen
Hósdag 15. november
Tore leitar (5:5)
Mikudag 14. november
25 minuttir: Steintór Rasmussen